jump to navigation

Huin102 – IKT? Thursday, August 23, 2007

Posted by Myriam Coco in HUIN102 blogs, IKT Begrep / Concepts TIC, Introduction, Precision - Time Machine.
trackback

Squeezing in a little word, not too elaborate, but I just had to do it. I went surfing through your blogs and there was Lena’s question: what IKT stands for.

My first reaction was to laugh. I laughed at MYSELF, because I am so used to use these 3 letters that I did not consider that they could be carrying some mystery for others. I did not consider that the term needed to be developed during our busy time frame of last Tuesday. That was a preconception from my part. At this point, it is an unveiled preconception now and here is an attempt to rectify the situation without going back in time.

So, thanks you for the feedback! And yes, you had it right: Informasjon og Kommunikasjon Teknologi in Norwegian or ICT (Information and Communication Technology) in English.

(To be continued…)

I am looking forward to reading more of your posts and have some feedback.

.

Comments»

1. KDS - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

IKT is the IATA code for Irkutsk International Airport, according to Wikipedia.

2. M. C. - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

Thank you for this interesting comment, KDS!
It brings to the attention several issues:
– the amount of information we have access to,
– our ability to discriminate what is relevant and what is not,
– the context in which the information lies and the meaning it gets according to this same context,
– our evaluation of the efficiency and relevance of the tools providing us information,
– (and some other issues I will probably think about once I have published that).

If I recall Jermund’s blog where he mentioned how easy we now can get information compared to “før i tiden”, I start thinking about this known adage: “information is power” — or was it “knowledge is power”? In which circumstances does the information we come across become relevant knowledge in and for our learning process?


Leave a Reply

